Hi,

I want to share rails 2 app sample.
It includes
– signup
– login
– activation ( via email )
– forgot password ( send to email )
– edit profile
– create member area
– simple layout for front end and member ( include basic css )
– script to feeds table countries

To run application, Please Follow this steps:

Checkout app

git clone git@github.com:febyartandi/rails_2_scratch_app.git

Change configuration

– change configuration for database myql in config/database.yml with yours

– change google account for sending email in config/application.yml
smtp_user_name: yourgmailaccount
smtp_password: yourgmailpassword

– rake db:create && rake db:migrate
– rake migration:populate
– ruby script/server

Hope this help people !

Comments on: "Sample of rails application – basic user system ( signup, login, edit profile etc )" (10)

  1. hello!
    I am a native developer but situations are wierd so i am doing web developing . I need to create a login system . then i came across your app and only one thought came to my mind perfect. I did the whole configuration . its running fine but when i do a sign up no email is sent to the signup email. As a result i can’t create a account . It would be very useful if u can help me in this matter.
    Thanks in advance.
    Saurabh

    • febyartandi said:

      Hi Saurabh,

      If you want to send email with ActionMailer and Smtp google, you must enable Imap in your gmail account.
      Login into your gmail account, and klik setting ( up-right corner ), choose tab “Forwarding and POP/IMAP” and click radio button “Enable Imap”.

      Restart your rails server and try again.
      Let me know if it stil doesnt work.

      Thanks,

      Feby

  2. thanks for the reply. let me first try it. I will get back to you soon.

  3. ahh…my IMAP is already enabled…:((( i guess some other problem…???

  4. I made a mistake…now its working fine…i would very excellent work. I am very thankful to you.

  5. Hii…i need one more help. Currently email is directly sent to user who did the signup. I want the email should first come to administartor and when the administrator agrees den only activativation goes to user.

    Is it possible???

    • febyartandi said:

      Hi Saurabh,

      To send email signup notification to admin, you can change it in user_mailer class.
      The current codes is send email to signup user, you just need to change it into email admin.
      If you have trouble with learn mailer in ror, please read about ActionMailer first.

      Thanks,

      Feby

      • Thank you for your email . I changed the email to email admin already but my problem is that instead of sending the activation code to admin email i want to send an accept reject button to admin email . If the admin clicks on accept button then another email goes to the user with the activation url which you had presently . If the admin rejects then the a sorry email is sent to the user.

  6. please reply me

    • febyartandi said:

      Hello Saurabh,

      I am so sorry, I just see your messages.

      Did you still have a problem with your mailer systems ?
      If yes, maybe you can send me the codes and I will help you to make it works like you need.

      Thanks,

Leave a comment